Month: January 2013

  • A Photo
    2013.01.14

    Scènes de Montréal - Montreal Scenes

    Note: this post was edited for the essential on Tuesday Jan 22.

    Above

    Friend works in that brown tower, the one with the pizza pie Radio-Canada logo. Place Émilie-Gamelin which I talked about many times is located at the foot of that other hotel tower with a red logo in the top portion and whose window side is used for light displays. That area is also where is the Gay Village.

    Family ties

    Sister returned home yesterday after passing four and a half days with me. She and my stepbrother picked me and my stuff at the hospital last Thursday morning. They had done the two-hour trip the day before and had slept in a hotel upon arrival. They live near Ottawa, but on the Québec side of the river (and possible future border ) . He returned home soon afterwards but Sister stayed to help me for a few days. Help here would be an understatement. She cleaned, dusted, wiped and washed what would have taken me weeks if not a month to do. Needless to say, it was immensely appreciated. Brother could have picked me up on Thursday but, lucky him, he left for Mexico last Monday, for maybe three months, which was also my intended plan, before...

    So, what's new?

    We are in the midst of a polar spell this week, tomorrow being the coldest since 2005 and this week the coldest since 1996. We can expect -40°C temperatures, considering the wind chill factor, and we're in this until next week, at the least. I'm supposed to take small daily walks for my recovery but under these conditions, I'll have to settle with moving from one room to another in the apartment. Temperatures were nice, even above normal from the beginning of January to one day prior to my return home. Me being as lucky as a Boeing 787 Dreamliner, nothing of this really surprises me. Add-on: It was -26 when I got up this Wednesday morning and didn't move much for the whole day. Same expected tomorrow.

    I don't like it when it is very cold (besides my hating winter in general) because it puts stress on the electric systems, especially heating equipment. Electricity is used a lot for heating, here, because it is cheap. And that kind of stress is a fire hazard.

    Front page of my daily this morning, with the caption The intense and biting cold did not prevent this Montreal woman to walk one kilometer to get to work: all that's needed is to be well wrapped ! A warming of the stratosphere would explain the prolonged cold spell hitting North America.

    image photo
    Photo © Jacques Nadeau - Le Devoir

    Being clueless

    Should Republicans beware? That flaming red dress worn by Michelle Obama last night at the inauguration ball may be (in my dreams) an advance sign, along with what her husband said in his speech, that not having to bother with reelection, he will be out for the jugular. Like we say in French, «Ça va saigner!». Someone was saying on CNN this evening that the soft approach (trying to make sense with the Republicans) had been tried by Obama in the first mandate and they spat in his face. Too bad for them but that train left the station. They could have hopped in but they preferred to stay on the wharf. Dah-dee-dah!

    Duh!

    Microsoft sent me an email saying that they will kind of kill Messenger, and replace it with Skype. That news shook me about as much as I'll be shaken when Georgr H. Bush will die.

    Skype was a simple tool to use. Now I'll bet that when we connect to it, we'll also connect to the WWE (World Wide Empire) of Microsoft and all which that implies. They call it live.com. What a misnomer! You can die and get entangled in a spider web before it loads all its Microsoft crap.

    Zzzzzzz

    M'y sister's visit had its toll on my endurance it would seem. In the hospital, I would nap a lot: breakfast, nap, washing, physiotherapy, daily bandage replacement, nap, dinner, nap, ergotherapy, nap, supper, nap, reading, sleep. For four days, nap was impossible cause I had to answer all of my sister's questions like where are this and that, or where they should be put. I don't complain of course, just imagining what it would have been to do all this scares the hell out of me, but since she left, I just feel like sleeping all the time.

    Then again, maybe I'm simply a sore lazy ass, go figure!

    Leaving with style

    Hillary Clinton banged on the table today in Congress. It was refreshing to see those nit-picking Republicans be put in their place. Me thinks that, health providing, she may be back in 2016 for a third presidential term. Whether she does or not, she remains in my eyes an exceptional woman.

  • A Photo
    Looking east from a tenth floor, with Sherbrooke St. below - 2013.01.14

    Scènes de Montréal - Montreal Scenes

    Blame it on Carlo

    In a comment last December I think, Carlo mentioned that he was happy about my return since that would spell also the return of my long posts. Since then, I didn't have either the time, nor enough access to the internet, to do so. Not to mention one-finger typing. But since I edit my posts in a separate editor, I started one some time ago, adding bits and pieces now and then, and waiting until its size met Carlo's expectations before posting it. So it's all Carlo's fault in some way that I didn't post more in recent weeks. (just kidding, Carlo, another instalment of my silly humour )

    Appetite

    I look at some of the food pics I've posted here in the past and I get hungry.

    Frustration

    I look at some of the food pics I've posted here in the past and I get hungry and I get frustrated knowing that for many, preparing them with only one hand would be very tedious, at best, if not at all at the worst.

    Grasping certain realities

    I don't think I mentioned this before, but when I was in the coma, they did not know if I would survive. I was on artificial respiration. I remember nothing of this, of course. So it's hard for me to realize that I came to one hair of dying. It's like it concerned somebody else.

    Shooting oneself in the foot

    I guess this pic that I stumbled upon in the internet could be interpreted in two contradictional ways. Personally I am of those who think that the gun problem in the U.S. could be what will make it crumble as a society one of these days (or generate a civil war, it’s the same thing). I also think this "problem" is maybe one that can’t be fixed because the possession of arms coupled with an obsession about “national security” are both embedded in the core fabric of the country. Stricter gun laws will only act as a flame retardant, me thinks.

    image photo
    Pic © owner unknown

    Low life expectancy

    That big Dec 27 snowstorm which I mentioned in my post of that day turned out to be 'historical'. Montreal had the largest snowfall in a single day ever, 45 cm. Since then, we've had many days of rain and mild weather (aka around 8 C) and not only is there virtually no more of that storm's snow, but not much also of what was already on the ground at that date. Crazy weather. (add-on: it didn't last)

    Radiating

    For the third year in a row, a Canadian (read Québec) film is among the top five nominees for the “Best film in a foreign language” Oscar. Could be worse.

    Much of the same

    Much hoopla about gay marriage and gay adoption in France these days. We hear the same old arguments about these measures being a lethal attack against civilization. Like the ideology-blinded Republicans in the U.S., these opponents won’t bother looking around in those other countries, like Canada, or large cities, like New York or Mexico City, where these measures are already in place and who are still very much civilized thank you.

    View from a former outsider

    Dany Laferrière is a Haitian-born author (1953) who fled the Duvalier dictatorship when he was in his mid-twenties, with Montreal as his destination. (I’ve mentioned him before). During the thirty some years since his arrival here, he also lived part-time in Miami. I finished his last book recently, "L'art presque perdu de ne rien faire" (The Almost Forgotten Art Of Doing Nothing). They say that there are no better eyes to gauge a society than those of an outsider. This small chapter from that book is so much us.

    A Northerner

    I come from a country of eternal summer. And for over three decades, I have been living in a country of which poet Gilles Vigneault says that «this is not a country, it is winter». So I left summer for winter. But it's in Montreal that I felt summer for the first time. To know summer one must have crossed winter, I never ceased to repeat. And yet it's in the heat of Miami that I had the strongest nostalgia of cold. One day when it was warmer than usual, I felt a frantic desire for ice. The call of the cold. The icicle, like a salmon, rose into that dark corner of my memory to remind me that I was also a man of the North. But being a man of the North is not only to be able to withstand very low temperatures, it is especially to be obsessed to the point of never losing sight of winter. Even in summer. When we speak of a good or a bad summer, we don't do it with regards to that summer itself, we simply ask ourselves if we stored enough heat to face the coming winter. We talk about winter as the French speak of gastronomy or wine, just goes to say. When people ask me, as they do with all those who were not born here, what struck me the most upon arriving in Montreal, I reply that it is not winter but all which surrounds it. What one must know about the cold. Winter sports (skiing, hockey, snowshoeing). Movies whose story takes place in winter (Kamouraska). Weather reports that we hear several times a day without ever feeling any fatigue. The endless discussions, standing in the kitchen with a glass of wine in hand, about the Stanley Cup, Quebec's independence and the survival of French in North America. The fact that the mood of an entire city depends on a few more degrees. Which suggests that it is easier not to notice an elephant in a corridor than to miss winter. A man of the North, it is the one who is surprised each year of the return of winter. One only has to see how excited the first snowstorm is annually greeted by people (adults as well as children) just as by the media. It makes front page in the dailies. And at least three reports in the evening news. We get excited to the point that a tourist might wonder if it's the first time that it snows in this country. .

    image photo

    Free at last

    It's a little presumptuous of mine to use this famous Martin Luther King quote, but it's to signal that as of yesterday morning (Jan. 17) I have been released from that readaptation hospital where I was imprisoned (sort of ) since December 7, where I was transferred from a much bigger prison, Hôpital St-Luc, not far away, and where my three-month stay was anything from resort-like.

    My ward (10th floor) at the readaptation hospital was some kind of international cuckoo's nest, with many of its around 25 patients not Canadian-born, and most older than me. Those who have been following this blog for some while may be tempted to comment that as per cuckoos are concerned, who am I to talk! This floor cared for patients having neurological problems. I was there because of my arm, but most others were people who had suffered a stroke (ACV in French). Many had speech problems and/or were confused or suffered from short memory loss and other cognitive problems. Many were also incontinent (I spare you the details). Some didn't speak French or barely English, so when they talked to nurses or attendants, god knows who understood what. At first, the woman who was sharing my room was a nice person who didn't talk much, which was fine with me since she was aphasic (because of a stroke) so when she talked it was very relevant about a certain reality, except that this reality was in her head only. She also had other heart problems and a pacemaker. One day she was sent to a real hospital for an operation to her heart and did not come back. She was replaced by a 92-year old Ukrainian who couldn't talk except for grumbles that only his wife understood, didn't speak French, couldn't eat or drink anything, water included, because of a temporary (well if a couple of months is temporary) kind of dysphagia (stuff would go direct into his lungs) so he was fed through a tube connected to his belly and his stomach, whose regular maintenance made me so happy in the middle of the nights. He also had a bunch of numbers tatooed on one arm which I learned were a souvenir from three and a half years passed in Hitler's resorts, namely Auschwitz-Birkenau, Mittelbau-Dora and another one whose name I forget. On top of that, he was partly incontinent. Four or five days before I left, he was all smiles since he was finally permitted to start eating and drinking again through his mouth, slowly at first, but still the same... Then, the second day before I left, he started peeing blood. In the evening, he was whisked by ambulance to my old home for three months, Hôpital St-Luc, where he had a heart attack soon after arrival, probably due to heavy blood loss, I was told by his wife the next day. She also told me that prospects were not good and that for some time now, he was on the wharf waiting for the train going up there to frickin stop and pick him up. Life is great. Then again... In economics, they talk about the cost of living. Maybe it could be applied to one's health also.

    I kind of found it strange that my hospital ordeal ended as it had started, with perfumes of death lingering around. My first roommate, before all hell broke loose, was a fiftyish man who was originally from France and who, him, had no speech problems, and spoke very well thank you. He was lectured and we had very interesting conversations, at least when they were not changing his bedsheats and everything associated, since he had frequent bouts of baby-like yellow, liquid and very smelly diarrhea, and was bed-stranded. I learned quickly that I had to forget about being fussy. It helped later when it was my turn to have my ass wiped. Anyhow, we appreciated each other's company. But the thing is, this man had pancreas cancer which had metastized all across his body. One day, ambulance workers came to pick him up to bring him home. When he passed in front of me on the stretcher, I took his hand and told him how I would really miss him, to which he replied that it was the same for him. I know I also shed a tear, and of what I remember, his ex-wife who was there and who came every day, did the same when I told her goodbye. Life is great. Then again...

    Some days later, I was hanging between life and death in an intensive care unit, connected to a brand new and sophisticated respiratory machine of which Friend and my family members present were told I was the first one ever to be connected to. The French man had probably some kind of equipment in his home to help him go through his last days. He's most likely dead today. I'm [still] alive. Life is great. Then again...

    Coming back to the readaptation hospital, as per the medical personel went, nurses, auxiliary nurses and attendants, it was a cross between a branch of Haïti, a smaller branch of Central and especially South America, a nice lad from Mexico City, two hidjab-wearing Muslim women, and a varied but not very large selection of "pure wool" Quebecers. Some kind of Babel Tower. Pretty much Montreal, in fact. The one I like, anyways.

  • I'm home again for the weekend. Not really any time to post. I prefer checking out your own posts since September (of the recently defunct year )

  • Happy New Year to All!

    And may 2013 bring you the very best.

    I was back home this weekend. I thought I would not have much to do compared to the last one. Bad assessment. For all purposes, I only had Saturday afternoon to roam the internet. I should be back home, hopefully, for next weekend. Meanwhile, at the hospital, the opening hours where are the computers depend on the phases of the moon apparently. Last week it was only open on Thursday afternoon.

    I still have lots of fun things to do before I leave for the hospital this evening like washing the dishes and similar playful activities so until nexy Saturday it's gonna be an arrivederci, goodbye, viszlat, adios or au revoir, depending on your cultural persuasion. Unless I can access internet in the meantime, of course.