2013/07/30

  • A Photo
    Station de métro Mont-Royal – 2013.07.29

    Scènes de Montréal – Montreal Scenes

    Regrets, No regrets

    So they haven’t reached their fund-raising goal (as of today). We know it not by Xanga but through posts of other Xangans who are seemingly privy to this information. For weeks, I’ve been wondering what date exactly that two-week extension had been extended to. I’ve looked and looked every time I accessed the Xanga site but unfortunately, no communications on this existential subject by Xanga whatsoever. Again, some others seemed to know, displaying countdowns on their site.

    Then yesterday, I accidentally learned that there was a Xanga Facebook site and after getting there noticed that it was loaded with a bunch of the informations that I wanted to know.

    Stupid, stupid me. How out of synch can I be. For almost 9 years, and during this period having been a quite prolific poster on Xanga, I had in my mind that I had a membership account in a blog outfit, and that if that outfit was facing possible mortality, I would find all pertinent details about it inside said outfit, especially if said members were called, financially, to come to its rescue.

    I am not in Facebook and I don’t want to be in Facebook, and I’m not the only one, that’s the least I can say. I think it stinks and prefer to stay away from it. Others have an account there but haven’t set foot in it for ages, mostly also because of that big-brotherish smell. Whatever the reason, one must still be a Facebook member to access more than what is displayed on the front page. This is totally unacceptable in this case. But this put aside, if I really, I mean really, have to go there for some reason, like finding out, say, what goes on with my blogging site, it seems to me that the minimum courtesy should have been to at least let me and others know about it.

    Over the years, I have read numerous complaints from other members about the lack of communications between Xanga and its members, from the first to the second I mean, like no responses to queries, that sort of thing. Or that person who sent over 400$ standing unaccounted for and who was reduced to ask another blogger what to do about this situation. There are even some of these same complaints on that Facebook page, for crying out loud. From what I can see, and from my own recent experience, I come to the very unfortunate conclusion that these complaints were and remain justified.

    I of course am thankful to Xanga for having given me a space to post my garglings over all these years. I’ll also find it very regretful if I have to leave, which even that is not clear since there’s a cloud over the notions of Premium and Life members and what will become of them. Maybe the pre-2.0 posts will remain…

    Many years ago, the brother of a friend of mine whom I stumbled upon arriving at the Nice airport, to both our surprise since we were on the same plane, immediately told me: «Life is a long corridor !».

    So I keep on walking. I ain’t dead yet, as they say down there in Texas. Other rooms line that corridor. One of them has a door labeled http://yulberto.wordpress.com [1] where, push comes to shove, I will probably set up my tent for a while.

    As mentioned at the top, I’ll also remain reachable by email at banyulss@gmail.com.

    Thanks to all those who followed me over the years, and especially those whose support and good wishes helped me go through the difficult times I went through in the last year. Please consider these thanks as personal. And if our ways part here for some reason or another, be also assured that you will remain forever in that special corner in my heart reserved for fond souvenirs.

    Gilbert[o]

    Note [1]: I have set up my WordPress account so as to make it possible to comment even if not logged in. The only drawback, if drawback it is, is that I have to approve anonymous comments before they appear in the comments box. I’m informed by email when such a comment is pending, so the delay is directly related to when I do access my emails. Also, WordPress members comments have to be approved once in a similar fashion. Afterwards, it’s business as usual for them.

Comments (4)

  • Au revoir, Gilbert.AmitiésMichel

  • I just checked out Xanga’s Facebook page and that’s where all the action is. How strange that they’re not giving all that info on their Xanga page. It’s all very confusing too. Not many people seem to understand what’s going on with Xanga. (including me) Oh well, honestly I don’t mind changing to another blog site. I’m getting used to change.

  • Frankly, your page never loaded more quickly. Maybe xanga won’t die after all.

  • I think they are winning some time to get the money they need. It seems they are able to go to the new xanga 2.0.Don’t know if the not premiums are kicked out tonight or can stay all the month of Augustus.As you say, I keep walking in the long corridor and hope to see some people I know over there.I didn’t like facebook, but now I am using to follow all the activities in Turri (The tiny village in Sardinia where I was born in 1945) Amazing how they people there are busy.Now they have a site of Turri, art and culture. Happy Birthday by the way. I thought you were 64 but you are 63, still young. See ye

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.