2013/08/04

  • A Photo
    Vieux-Montréal – 2013.07.23
    Scènes de Montréal – Montreal Scenes

    Above

    image photo

    Crying wolf?

    With all we have come to learn in recent months, it’s hard to tell these days what is true information and what is political damage control.

    We hear numbers, like 300, in a same sentence with “captured terrorists”. Where? When? Who? Have they been charged? If no, why? If yes, of what and where are they now? We could go on and on with similar unanswered questions that have not been asked about those 300. Like this one for instance: if those captures have been made possible using the XKeystore program, which is an American thingie, are those ‘captureds’ Americans? And have they been captured in the United States? If not, how can the U.S. capture non-Americans outside the U.S.? If the U.S. didn’t capture them, who did? And since most of those other countries expressed (or faked) their surprise after the Snowden revelations, what link with XKeystore do I miss? It would be nice to know these things, and especially how they work and who is involved.

    I don’t say that what they are saying is not true. I’m just saying that we have been bullshitted so many times in the past that we are plenty justified to ask to see the ingredients list before guzzling it right off the counter.

    So when we were told by Mommy Ahmerica that there was an international alert this weekend, just when the Snowden kid was granted ayslum in Russia and that the NSA was under fire at home, it crossed our mind that it would be a nice diversion to give a good scare to those non-believers and show them how essential the NSA truly is.

    And that old story about Cry Wolf also popped up. The problem of course being that unless there really is an attack somewhere (which nobody wants), it will be impossble to know if this time around the wolf was really there or not. I guess that with time, we’ll have to rely on empirical deductions. Or in other words, just how many times can they cry wolf before someone replies «Yeah? So?».

    It was simpler back then

    Texas reportedly is on the verge of being out of stock of pentobarbital, as early as September some say, therefore hindering their State murder program.

    I have a low cost solution for them. Simply return to the good old times and hang them from a nearby tree. First, unless being a consumate hypocrit, everyone knows that State executions are the exact same thing as the previous lynchings, except that for respectability purposes, the State has taken over the procedure. So lynching for lynching, why bother with fancy chemicals when a good rope can do the job, and on top of that, one that can even be reused. You’re green or you’re not. Second, most of those who were lynched back then by mobs wearing white school-dunce pointed hats were Black people, and those nowadays being tended to by fake medical technicians wearing white smocks and sharp needles, are still again mostly Black people. Hardly anyone (in Texas) would notice.

    Note for surveillance squads, sniffing outfits, out-of-contexters and intellectually-challenged monothinkers: the above is sarcasm. Look it up in the dictionary if required.

    Helicopter on a balcony

    The other day a dragonfly was buzzing around on my rear balcony. I was sitting at the kitchen table and saw it through my back door. It was something quite unusual, where I live I mean. We can see them at night, but in much less densely populated areas. I wanted to take a pic of it but I was on a long distance call on the phone and my camera was in another room so all that remains of this encounter is a souvenir in my mind which I share with you. As with certain other informations, you dispose if it as you wish: take it or shove it.

    BTW I had seen the word dragonfly before but had no clue it meant a “libellule”, something I found out by looking for the English word for it. And they say these blogs serve no purpose!

    Desertification

    When your almost confidential blog starts to pop up in the Top Blogs page, something it never did before, you just know that there is much, much less traffic on that highway.

    Here’s 2U, Italia!

    U2 and me will remain estranged. I didn’t go to the closing fireworks on Saturday evening (see previous post). It was rather fresh outside and there was an impending menace of rain. Because of this, I also did not feel like lingering around after the show as I usually do since the metro is assaulted by all those thousands of people having come to see the show and returning home and I prefer waiting an hour for things to calm down. I could have opened the radio to listen to the music score, but on CBC they were airing the award-winning film Incendies, subtitled in English, and that took control of my priority one. I had already seen it, and that alone was a good reason to watch it again.

    Later on, I learned that Italy had won the Gold Jupiter. Croatia won the Silver and the Spanish entry I linked in the previous post won the Bronze. When Italy’s performance ended on Wednesday, they were saying on the radio that the spectators at La Ronde were giving a standing ovation, and that it was something seldom seen. So I guess I was (for once) right on target about what I thought of it.

    WordPressing

    I’m starting to get more used to WordPress. An extra difficulty for me is that I use it with the French editing interface, but all the help pages found on the net including the WordPress site are only in English. So I have to figure out the French equivalent for the English menu items they mention, etc. I also have to figure out which is the best button or click to use in my situation (using the HTML edit section). At times there can be on a same page three different ways to get somewhere and not necessarily using the same means. For now, I haven’t used the Reader mode but from what I could see, it shouldn’t be more difficult than in Xanga. What seems complicated is the use of all those “social networking” thingies. I am not interested at all in those. Nor in entering pissing contests about who has the most readers. I come here to blog, basically. That means saying something of my own, I gather. I could do like some and report a one-line event and go fishing by asking something like “Would you kill your mother?”. I’d always end up on top of Top Blogs, someone did it with success, but that’s not my cup of tea.

    I’m taking notes, for myself. Maybe it could become something I could pass on to others, eventually. But don’t hold your breath. For now, there’s more meat on Twiggy than in those notes.

Comments (5)

  • The ‘International Alert’ reminds me so much of the Bush years. Whenever Bush was in some kind of trouble there would be one of those ‘Color Code’ alerts. I didn’t believe it then and I don’t believe anything my government says now about anything. They can only blame themselves for the loss of trust.Dragonfly’s are wonderful. I hardly see any here but in Texas they had beautiful ones. Some of them were an electric blue. Almost glowing.

  • Nice to learn Italians are good at something.They are having some trouble at home in the political arena; the leader SB being charged with four years jail (Three erased as gift, one year home arrest….he has many huge homes).It is good to post and comment on two sites.

  • @carlo - It’s Italian week here, and you may be interested by this Pierre Foglia column in Saturday’s La Presse. It talks about Italian immigrants, which he is himself.

  • @titus_bigglesworth - I had forgotten about those colorful codes. I don’t remember any event related to those codes so it’s possibly even more cry wolfy than I thought… BTW we’re now Monday, nothing happened, so they extended the scare to the whole week. By chance, scare is inflatable, buy it can also deflate quite fast.

  • @Banyuls -  Thanks. I had already read something written by Foglia( via you). He is a very good writer and his description is very interesting. I wonder if he follows what is happening now in the politic arena in Italy.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.